ICM is governed by an International Council, the decision-making body of the organisation, which develops ICM’s Triennial Strategy at each Triennial Council Meeting. The Council appoints Board members according to processes set out in the  ICM Constitution (pending legal approval).The Confederation also works under a set of   By-laws, last updated in June 2020.   The elected President, Vice President and a Treasurer form the Executive Committee of the Board that works closely with the Chief Executive to achieve the ICM's Triennial Strategy.

Organisational structure: 
There are 143 ICM Member Associations  in 124 Countries representing over 1 million midwives. 

Two Members from each Member Association and the Board.  

The main role of the board is to oversee the role of the headoffice. 

10 Board members from six regions: Africa - Anglophone and Francophone (2), Americas - North America and Caribbean and Latin America  (2), Western-Pacific (1), Eastern Mediterranean Region (1), South East Asia (1), and Europe - Northern, Central and Southern (3). 

The Board includes the Executive Committee: President, Vice-President, and Treasurer. The Chief Executive attends Board meetings in an ex-officio capacity with no voting rights. Board Members are appointed for a three-year term, which can be renewed only once. 

The Governance Structure of ICM


The ICM Head Office is based The Hague, the Netherlands. 

Click here to visit the 'ICM Staff' page. 


Standing Committees

There are three committees that advice the Board and a Scientific Professional Programme Committee that develops scientific programs for each Congress. 

Education Standing Committee

The ICM Education Standing Committee promotes the international standardisation of midwifery education to support the development and expansion of high quality and effective undergraduate and post graduate midwifery education programmes. It also oversees the production of the resources required to support these standards and their effective implementation internationally.

Regulation Standing Committee

The ICM Regulation Standing Committee focuses on the development and support of regulatory systems that ensure midwifery practice is defined, regulation is in place, practice and education standards are met, midwives are registered/licensed, and midwifery practice is accountable to the public/society. Professional regulation can be defined as the acceptance of responsibility for maintaining standards and practicing within the limits of one’s competence.

Research Standing Committee

The ICM Research Standing Committee and its Research Advisory Network (RAN) provide ICM’s member associations with up to date information on all aspects of midwifery practice, education and service. It plays a key role in the development of the ICM Triennial Congresses. Research is the foundation of midwifery’s Three Pillars and ongoing education and research are the lifeblood of any vibrant profession.

Scientific Professional Programme Committee

The Scientific Professional Programme Committee (SPPC) assesses and approves abstracts and completes the scientific programme for ICM Triennial Congresses. 


Subscribe to our Newsletter for latest news.