Advocacy, Association, Leadership

Twin to Win


In 2022 ICM launched its first Twin to Win pilot project as part of the Strengthening Midwifery Services Project. A two-year initiative where member associations (MAs) from similar contexts are matched and supported to develop and deliver joint and individual projects.

Twinning is a cross-cultural, reciprocal process where two groups of people work together to achieve a joint goal.

Over the past decade, several ICM MAs have twinned to share best practices and work collaboratively on shared organisational objectives aimed at strengthening midwifery within their countries.

With strong institutional knowledge and feedback from our MAs and their interest in establishing twinning projects, ICM launched a pilot Twin to Win project and welcomed its first twins in 2022. Over the next two years, twins will work together to create measurable and achievable projects, with the ultimate goal of strengthening their associations.

Twins in this Project

Burundi and Uganda

Mali and Senegal

Guatemala and Costa Rica

Creating an environment for MAs to grow and learn from each other in a reciprocal way is a core objective of the Twin to Win project.

For this reason, we match MAs from similar social and economic contexts to establish non-hierarchal, mutually beneficial relationships between sets of twins.

The project is also premised on self-direction and feminist models of collaboration and communication. This means that each set of twins determines the pace of their project in consideration of their already busy professional and personal schedules. By making space for the twins to build trust and form relationships with each other and establish realistic project timelines and deliverables, we expect to achieve impactful project outcomes and long-lasting relationships between MAs.

At the end of this pilot, ICM will prepare a manual for future Twin to Win projects.

Examples of countries with twinned MAs

Tanzania and Canada

Japan and Mongolia

United Kingdom and Uganda

United Kingdom and Nepal

The Netherlands and Iceland

Ghana and Sierra Leone