The Marie Goubran Award

The 2014 Marie Goubran Award was presented to Kingsley Musama. This was the first time ever that the award was presented to a male midwife! Kingsley is a midwife at Chikwa Rural Health Centre in Chama district, Zambia. He introduced many positive changes in maternal and child health leading to his clinic being chosen as the best in the Chama district for two consecutive years.

About the Marie Goubran Award

The purpose of the Marie Goubran award is to assist in the furthering of midwifery education and practice in countries with special needs and limited funding opportunities, through the provision of grants, scholarships and awards to midwives who have demonstrated the potential to act as change agents in their region or country.

History of the Marie Goubran Award

In 1987, Marie became the part-time Executive Secretary of the International Confederation of Midwives. She guided the Confederation through some very difficult times and raised its profile considerably. She established close reations with the World Health Organization, the World Bank and the United Nations Fund for Population Assistance.

She was dedicated to the development of midwifery education for Safe Motherhood throughout the world. She obtained the necessary funding for workshops in developing countries to discuss the problems of maternal mortality. She was the driving force behind the establishment of the Pre-Congress Collaborative Workshops on Safe Motherhood inaugurated in the Hague in 1987 and continued triennially there after.

After her untimely death in 1990, the Board of Management of the Confederation decided to introduce the ICM Marie Goubran Award in recognition of her dedication to midwifery and her efforts in uniting midwives from all over the world; a task which she succeeded in achieving beyond any expectations. The award, to presented every three years, would enable the recipient to fulfil their potential as change agent.

Marie was a special person who touched the lives of many and helped even more in so little time.

Past Prize Winners

In the past the award has been granted to:

Ghislaine Francouer posthumously - Haiti

Agatha Boetang - Ghana
Marie Janneh - Gambia
Gecila Anna Asare - Ghana

Marie Janneh - Gambia
Gecila Anna Asare - Ghana

Lennie Kamwendo - Malawi
Nester Moyo - Zimbabwe

Rosaline Lapan-Baker - Papua New Guinea
Feddy Mwanga - Tanzania

Ren Neang - Cambodia
Vivian Donkor - Ghana

Prix Commémoratif Marie Goubran

Le « Prix Marie Goubran » est conféré à une sage-femme qui a démontré des qualités de chef ainsi que du dévouement aux femmes en âge d’avoir des enfants et leurs familles dans des pays qui ont des besoins particuliers et des ressources financières limitées.

Premio Marie Goubran

El Premio Marie Goubran se le otorga a una matrona que ha demostrado potencial de liderazgo y dedicación hacia las mujeres en edad reproductiva y a sus familias, en países con necesidades especiales y oportunidades limitadas para acceder a fondos.