Global Standards for Basic Midwifery Education (2010)

The ICM Council Decision in 2008 led to establishing the Global Standards for Midwifery Education. A Standard is defined as “a norm/uniform reference point that describes a required level of achievement or performance”.

The standards:

  • Set quality indicators based on global expectations.
  • Provide framework for design, the implementation, and evaluation of the ongoing quality of the programme.
  • Align with regulatory bodies the scope of midwifery practice.
  • Hold midwifery programme accountable to public.
  • Meet national and local workforce needs for qualified midwives.

They cover:

  • Midwifery leadership of programme.
  • Minimum length of midwifery programmes.
  • Minimum entry level of students & other qualifications.
  • Qualifications of midwifery theoretical & clinical teachers.
  • Competency-based teaching & learning strategies.
  • Minimum content of curriculum beginning with ICM Essential Competencies. 
  • Criteria for learning resources/practice facilities.
  • Ongoing evaluation of: students, teachers, the curriculum.

The Global Standards for Midwifery Education need to be used as a package;


“We call on governments to provide education and training in the essential competencies for basic midwifery practice..and to strengthen midwifery services.”

augmentin duo buy where to buy propecia uk forum nexium günstig kaufen buy dapoxetine in uk buy erythromycin 500mg kamagra tablets australia adobe photoshop cs6 student price australia achat finasteride 1mg lamisil avec ou sans ordonnance strattera kaufen schweiz doxycycline vente acheter lasix sans ordonnance glucophage 850 sans ordonnance proscar kaufen forum zantac 150 kopen